Gala 2018

Join Us in Celebrating 35 Years of Serving the New Evangelization


Most Reverend Michael J. Bransfield, Bishop of Wheeling-Charleston

Parish Awardee

The Basilica of St. Mary, Alexandria, Virginia


Helen Alvaré

Professor of Law at George Mason University School of Law

Saturday, November 3rd, 2018

St. John Paul II National Shrine

3900 Harewood Road, Washington, DC

Free valet parking is offered, and a special exhibit will be open to all attendees!

5:00 PM Academic Convocation Mass

6:30 PM Reception

7:30 PM Dinner and Awards

This year’s Silent Auction features exciting trips: Alaska, Champagne & Chateaux, Costa Rica, Greece, Ireland, James Bond: Secret Hideaways, San Francisco, Tuscany, Florida, and the Amalfi Coast.

If you have questions, contact Annie at 304-724-5000, ext. 727 or email

Gala Benefactor

Supreme Knight Carl & Mrs. Dorian Anderson

Gala Sponsors

Dr. and Mrs. Joseph V. Braddock
Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston
EWTN Global Catholic Network, Inc.
St. Mary Catholic Church

Archdiocese for the Military Services
Archdiocese of Washington
Diocese of Arlington
Good Shepherd Catholic Church
Barbara Keebler and Terrence Giroux
Korte Realty
Dr. Marianne Evans Mount
Mr. William and Mrs. Mary Noel Page
Mr. Stephen Pryor
Dr. and Mrs. Frederick Scheuren
Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Smith
Saint Theresa Catholic Church
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Wasaff

Archbishop Timothy Broglio
Archdiocese of Baltimore
Church of the Nativity
Daniel F. Curtin
Diocese of Brooklyn
Mrs. Mary Elizabeth Fricano
Dr. Angelo Giardino
Mrs. Geraldine Hall
Jean Halle and Glenn Davis
Sam and Ann Hinojosa
Mrs. Claire Huang
Mr. and Mrs. Peter D. Jones
Dr. Araceli Lardizabal-Carnazzo
The Hon. Susan R. Malone and Col. George Malone
John and Margaret McCabe
Dr. Margaret B. Melady
Mrs. Helen Metzger
Mount St. Mary’s University
Mrs. Barbara P. Murphy
Mr. and Mrs. Roger Naill
Dr. Timothy T. O’Donnell
Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey Petrino
St. Agnes Church
St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception Catholic Church
Mr. and Mrs. Harry T. Wilkins

We would be honored to have you join us at our annual Gala. Not only will you be supporting our award winners and graduates, you will also be supporting the only exclusively online Catholic university in the ACCU.  As CDU’s only annual fundraiser, the Gala provides much needed revenue to fulfill our strategic mission for Catholic online education that nurtures the spiritual and intellectual life of Catholics around the globe.  CDU’s sole focus is online theological and religious education.

In 1983, Bishop Thomas Welsh founded CDU to bring the truth of Christ and His Church to the world through online distance education. CDU’s web-based learning community enhances adult faith formation and enables access to accredited degree programs in theology simply with a connection to the Internet.  Today, our graduates are proof that CDU’s digital learning is transformative. Nine out of ten graduates are using their knowledge in roles that serve the Church. For many students, CDU is their only option to enhance their professional work, to prepare for careers in the Church, to volunteer in parishes and dioceses, and to be parents who are both witnesses and missionary disciples, speaking with passion and knowledge about the faith. All this is accomplished at less than half the cost of attending a traditional Catholic university or college and would not be possible without the generosity of people like you.

Your generous donation to our annual event enables us to provide transformative Catholic education in fidelity to the teachings of the Church anytime, anywhere around the world, delivered 24/7 to smart phones and tablets, iPhones and iPads!  You make it possible for CDU to serve the underserved and those who serve, and to achieve our great mission to “Teach all Nations” by communicating the mind and heart of the Church in a digital world.  Your gift:

  • Educates American service men and women deployed around the world.
  • Prepares directors of religious education, teachers, and catechists to teach, promote, and defend the Catholic faith
  • Brings the healing Word of God to Catholic prison inmates who take courses to deepen their faith and evangelize fellow inmates.
  • Supports Mission Dioceses with scholarships for strong lay leaders.
  • Holds down tuition rates. Most graduates share their knowledge and serve the Church.
  • Supports isolated and marginalized Catholics around the globe with online campus resources.

Your generosity answers the need of the Church to provide transformative religious education in an online format that is essential for the New Evangelization so frequently mentioned by Pope Saint John Paul II, Pope Benedict XVI, and Pope Francis.  Understanding and sharing our Faith will transform individuals, communities and cultures around the globe.  Thank you for supporting CDU’s 2018 Gala.  We look forward to seeing you there!

Previous Honorees:

2017 – Fr. Robert J. Spitzer, SJ, PhD

2016 – Carl A. Anderson

Supreme Knight of The Knights of Columbus

2016 – His Excellency Most Reverend William E. Lori

Archbishop of Baltimore and Supreme Chaplain of Knights of Columbus

2015 – Helen Alvare, JD

Professor of Law, George Mason University

2014 – His Excellency The Most Reverend Timothy P. Broglio

Archbishop for the Military Services

2014 – His Excellency The Most Reverend Nicholas DiMarzio

Bishop of Brooklyn

2013 – Barbara & Tim Murphy

2012 – His Eminence Donald Cardinal Wuerl

Archbishop of Washington

2012 – Dr. Margaret & Ambassador Thomas Melady

2011 – His Excellency, The Most Reverend Pietro Sambi

Apostolic Nuncio to the United States of America

2011 – Joseph and Bertha Braddock

2010 – His Excellency, The Most Reverend Paul S. Loverde

Bishop of Arlington

2010 – EWTN

Mr. Michael Warsaw, Chairman of the Board

Previous Honorees:

2017 – St. James the Greater

Rev. John S. Ledford

2017 – St. Veronica Catholic Church

Rev. Dennis W. Kleinmann

2016 – Blessed Sacrament Catholic Church

Rev. John D. Kelly

2015 – Good Shepherd Catholic Church

Rev. Thomas Ferguson

2014 – St. John the Apostle Roman Catholic Church

Rev. John P. Mosimann

2013 – St. Mary’s Catholic Church

Rev.  Edward Hathaway

2012 – Holy Spirit Catholic Church

Rev.  John M. O’Donohue

2011 – St. Raymond of Penafort Catholic Church

2010 – St. Agnes Catholic Church

Rev. Frederick H. Edlefsen